Regional History

The development of the regional structure was discussed by the organization from 1948 until 1957 when the Regional Plan of the organization was adopted at the annual convention held in San Francisco, California. However, as early as 1956, each of seven regions held Teen Conferences guided by seven elected or appointed Teen Regional Directors. Beginning in 1959, annual conventions were abolished and Regional Conferences alternated with bi-annual national conventions.

There are seven regions: Central, Eastern, Far West, Mid-Atlantic, Mid-Western, South Central and Southeastern. Each region is led by a Regional Director and has a Secretary-Treasurer and Member-at-Large. The Regional structure was last amended during the convention in 1996.